Waiting for spring – making beads for VIKINGS in Norway

So, its here again. The snow.

Today is the 22th of february and due to Primstaven, we are expected to see snow melting from the underground, not only from rain and a few degrees celsius. Today is called Peder stol.

I had to throw away some heavy wet stuff – juicy fresh snow 😦  …  I`m sorry, thats quite boring.

vikingperler5

Typickal me, I better find something more fun to do! Beadmaking! Crushing glass, by heating it, and throw it into snow.

vikingperler2

Beadmakers always have glass stumps! Its the mix that matters.

It will crackle, and is easy to crush make frit from.

Frit is the stuff I use on my viking and helleristing beads and goddeses.  After crushing it has to be filtered and washed and tested.

Worked right, they will look a bit like stone, and look old..  thats what I want.

Dirty work… (while dreaming of spring and summer)… of course.

I have a great respect for Viking crafters, and beads and jewellry are important for vikings. Be sure that you buy handmade beads for your viking stuff. .. chinese were never vikings.. they only melt glass and metal and throw the pieces on the marked… one million of each item. No spirit.

Viking people today, are as the old ones 1000 years ago,  great crafters. rollsmed will always have a bead with small or big hole, THAT colour, rustic or unique  –  an individual bead for their project.  Archeologists has found a lot of beqads, I am alwasy thinking, how did the ones they did not find look. I am sure they had artists at that time too.  But today we can choose. I dont like to copy finds, or museum items.  I lke to be a beadmaker with my own beads in viking spirit. They make tools, hair decoration,  drums, clothes, toys, jewellry. With beads 🙂 (love you folks!)

And men buy their woman a bead 😉

vikingperler4

So this is what I am working with. Making stuff by hand means alo a lot of testing and thinking before we can post things we make for sale at Etsy og Epla.

(OR bring it to the Viking market in Gudvangen Western Norway,  an Unesco world Heritage valley.)

… OH NO!! The summer is still faaaaaar away!  Time to make MORE beads. Or first and better: Finding out how will make them…  Thats the stage the copyists dont use time for…

Here are my beads with boats, fireprotectors, suncrosses and runes. Inspired from Helleristning and runes. More to come.

vikingperler3

Melted down runes, or outside bead… hmmm..

lankeviking

So, look in my BEADshop – and wait for them spending time in my Facebook Page

My etsy jewellry shop has just reopened, it takes time to fill it…

 trollsmed

My bead shop…. 🙂

trollsmedbeads

So follow us! I promise to have these things in my shop in a couple of weeks.

 

Have a nice working week all of you! Dont forget to visit our TEAM page, linked under.

Lise, Trollsmed

– follow me here:

http://www.facebook.com/trollsmeden

 

 

 

facebookteam

folgoss

And find us at Etsy!

logoreklame

Love! ❤

The made in Norway Etsy team

Leave a Reply

