Crochet Monkie

Crochet Patterns and how it started.

My name is Yvonne. I am a graphic designer by education, and I live in the beautiful town of Kristiansand in the South of norway.

I have been crocheting since I was a teenager. In the beginning I used to make up something along the way, I just started crocheting. Usually without any good plan of what I was doing, and sometimes even without any plan at all. The result often matched the lack of planning, and I must admit I created a few strange and funny looking “can’t-be-used-for-anything”‘s during those early years. But it was so much fun!

A few years later when I was in my 20’s I started buying crochet patterns, and a whole new world opened up to me. I remember it felt kind of like magic when all of a sudden the stitches were put into system, and the result was actually something I could be proud of.
I made doilies, table cloths, baby dresses, jackets and hats.
I got experienced after a while and I went back to doing what I did as a teen, making it up as I go. Only this time I knew a little better what I was doing. And most of the time, not allways though, the finished product looked very similar to the ideas in my head.

It’s only recent, the last year or so, I started writing down what I was doing. Even that is fun. First I write the patterns in Norwegian. When I’m done I go through it over and over again to make sure there are no mistakes or spelling errors. When I am happy with it, it’s time to translate it into English. The Norwegian and English crochet terms are very different, so I need to be focused and very concentrated. I think I can say the process of making the pattern takes as much time, sometimes more, as the crocheting itself. But I love every part of it.

I opened my shop in July 2014, but I didn’t start to list any items until November the same year. I also have to mention I have a “business partner”, my 8 year old son. Sometimes he helps me with ideas, and I must admire him for willingly being my test-model for a lot of my (sometimes very girly) creations.

ETSY shop: www.CrochetMonkie.etsy.com

Leave a Reply

